Current location: Hot Scripts Forums » HotScripts.com Discussion » General HotScripts Site Discussion » annoying spam listings with google ads?


annoying spam listings with google ads?

Reply
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-10-04, 03:39 AM
collinong collinong is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry annoying spam listings with google ads?

anybody else notice the rash of script listings that describe some wondrous script but the link just leads to some page of generic b.s. about that type of script to pull in related Google ads?

I've been flagging them via the report feature but can the admins comment on what to do about these, how we can help, and whether there is a longer term solution?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-10-04, 04:51 PM
phpcode phpcode is offline
Newbie Coder
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello all, long time Hotscripts fan, first time poster. I saw a post today similar to what you have described, it did have an Google Ad which I just tend to ignore now, they are almost on every web page including HotScripts itself, I agree there was not a lot of content, but there was a link to a sourceforge project that I book-market which I did not know about, so it was mildly useful. I also noticed that this particular code was not under a scripts listing but a Tips and Tutorials so I didn’t expect to get any free software to begin with.

I know many web sites use advertising to support their script developments (including hotscripts), and I have rarely ever seen a tutorial or article without an advertisement on it. Hotscripts clearly will have to decide if they want to allow submissions with advertising or choose to find a balance between sites with ads and people who are overdoing it.

Anyways hats of to hotscripts, I have quickly found some of the best code listings on their site.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-04, 02:42 AM
collinong collinong is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phpcode
Hello all, long time Hotscripts fan, first time poster. I saw a post today similar to what you have described, it did have an Google Ad which I just tend to ignore now, they are almost on every web page including HotScripts itself, I agree there was not a lot of content, but there was a link to a sourceforge project that I book-market which I did not know about, so it was mildly useful. I also noticed that this particular code was not under a scripts listing but a Tips and Tutorials so I didn’t expect to get any free software to begin with.

I know many web sites use advertising to support their script developments (including hotscripts), and I have rarely ever seen a tutorial or article without an advertisement on it. Hotscripts clearly will have to decide if they want to allow submissions with advertising or choose to find a balance between sites with ads and people who are overdoing it.
Just to make things clear, I'm not complaining about legitimate tutorials or script sites which have Google Ads to help support themselves. These are clearly sites just thrown together with the pure intent just to carry Google ads, and have no significant information on them. Sometimes they list a script, but the link isn't even clickable, so as to decrease the possibility that the reader click on the informative link rather than the ad link.

Here are some recent examples:

http://www.hotscripts.com/Detailed/34471.html -> http://www.publicintranet.com/pub/Pr...ware/index.php

(the sourceforge project exists but has nothing available. i suspect it may have been created just for this purpose.)

http://www.hotscripts.com/Detailed/34434.html -> http://www.web--conferencing.net/

I think we can all agree that these are bogus pages, although I would have a harder time defining a spcific policy against them, but I know when a site's primary intent is to inform or to advertise when I see it. These people are taking advantage of hotscripts and diliuting its usefulness by inserting all this spam into the script listings.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-04, 11:13 AM
saint saint is offline
Newbie Coder
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

Special shout to Collin http://collin.org/gallery/cheneyski04/IMG_2456 for all this information. Good to have people like you watching out for us!



I noticed your last post about http://www.hotscripts.com/Detailed/10484.html spamming hotscripts was deleted? Were you talking about the number of submissions they posted or their site ads?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-04, 12:28 PM
collinong collinong is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saint
Special shout to Collin http://collin.org/gallery/cheneyski04/IMG_2456 for all this information. Good to have people like you watching out for us!

I noticed your last post about http://www.URLDELETED.com/ spamming hotscripts was deleted? Were you talking about the number of submissions they posted or their site ads?
I don't know why this person is pulling in personal pictures (btw, that is not my picture) or linking to other script sites that I have never seen or posted about. I can only conclude that the previous post is more spam to try to get people to go to his own script listings site.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-04, 04:43 PM
saint saint is offline
Newbie Coder
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by collinong
I don't know why this person is pulling in personal pictures (btw, that is not my picture) or linking to other script sites that I have never seen or posted about. I can only conclude that the previous post is more spam to try to get people to go to his own script listings site.
Wow, must have been another Colling Ong. Common name I guess.

And no, I am not trying to drive traffic to http://www.hotscripts.com/Detailed/10484.html

But hey, it's nice you're looking out for us!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.
vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.