I just got an email from scriptlance.com threatening me with legal action. Have you guys ever had this happen before. I mean this guy claims to own the trademark scriptlance.com but I registered the domain name scriptlance.ws. This domain sat un-registered for over 2 years.
Even if he does own the trademark scriptlance.com, does that mean that he would also own every domain with scriptlance in the name (even if he does not register it)
Not to mention the fact the he violated his own privacy policy stated in the site:
"Any information we collect, including your e-mail and mailing address, are not shared with any third parties nor do we use any personal information for any purposes"
"...nor do we use any personal information for any purposes"
I am here:
http://scriptlance.ws
He is here:
http://scriptlance.com
Here is the email he sent me after he suspended my account with money in escrow.
From: Rene <rene@r3n3.com>
To:
netshark_server@yahoo.com,
dns@jomax.net
This is the owner of ScriptLance.com
I suggest you immediately take down scriptlance.ws if you want to avoid
legal trouble. You are infringing on a trademark and we will take it
very seriously. If it's not done within 24 hours and I don't hear from
you I will be forced to contact my lawyer to discuss our legal options.
Reply ASAP.
-Rene Trescases
R3N3 Internet Services
http://www.scriptlance.com
I need your imput on this guys and gals.
Should I pull the site and buckle to him or should I tell him where to go and how to get there?