Current location: Hot Scripts Forums » Other Discussions » Web Servers » How much does a webserver cost

How much does a webserver cost

Closed Thread
Old
Newbie Coder

How much does a webserver cost

Hi all,

I am new to web design, I always wanted to have my own web server but I was just wondering how much it costs to set up one.

I know there is Windows and Linux servers, I am looking for the minimum cost with all the software like PHP and MySql etc...

Any help or sujestions would be greatly appriciated. Thank you in Advance.

Featured Marketplace Scripts (view more)

Old
Community Liaison

There's a couple different ways of getting web hosting.

If you want to run a simple web server at home for some basic php/mysql development, then you can try http://www.bizzarserver.com. However, hosting a server at home either over a dialup or even a cable modem can really degrade your bandwidth (to the internet) and will give your users a poor experience. Hosting at home is nice because speed isn't an issue for you, but normally, you'll want to upload it to a public server or web host once your ready. There's a bunch of different webservers for installing at home. Just google "wamp servers" which stands for Windows-Apache-Mysql-PHP and typically are bundled installs which are fairly easy to use.