View Categories

Reviews for Listing - Piwigo
Submit Your Review

Average Member Rating: 4.59/5

Displaying all 10 review(s)

Great Product, Not-So-Great Support Reviewed by RM on Wed, 18th January 2017

Rating: 4 - Very Good

I use my own install of Piwigo and it handles almost 100,000 pictures easily. Modes like "calendar view" by upload OR creation date help to make finding pictures easy, in addition to the ability to tag photos.

I have been pleased with the product and how it works. There are many extensions available to increase the functionality of Piwigo, but I have not tried anything beyond the "core" Piwigo platform.

I have only had a few technical issues (PHP related) over the 6 or 7 years that I have been using it, and my web host was able to resolve those for me.

The biggest downside (and this is why a 4-star rating rather than a 5-star rating) is the lack of detailed product documentation and the unwillingness of the support community to help "newbies". Most times, I can search the support forum for the topic that I have an issue with and can find record of how someone else resolved whatever that issue is. I have never received a helpful response from the forum. Any time I have posted to the forum for help, I get no response or a disrespectful response from that community.

I`m happy to use this script ! Reviewed by Chirtoaca Aurel on Wed, 6th March 2013

Rating: 5 - Excellent

looked for a long time somthing like this!

wont install Reviewed by BEN on Sun, 17th February 2013

Rating: 1 - Poor

install script needs to be edited to make it work

Images are not properly secured Reviewed by Frances on Fri, 25th January 2013

Rating: 3 - Average

Piwigo is a nice and quite efficient image gallery, which has many features. On the negative side, the administration panel is a bit cumbersome, for instance the management of albums requires many clicks which could be avoided with a more effective interface.
However, it's greatest flaw is that it lacks proper security: anyone with the direct URL to the images can access them, even when the album is marked as private. Sadly the Piwigo team doesn't see this as an important security issue and doesn't seem interested in fixing it, claiming the same happens in Facebook (...since when is Facebook a reference for security?).

Great easy to configure product Reviewed by mailmanuk on Sun, 29th January 2012

Rating: 5 - Excellent

the hardest part was connecting to mysql & PHP provider.

The Best script for photo and picture gallery Verified Reviewed by Anonymous on Thu, 16th September 2010

Rating: 5 - Excellent

I've been using this script for 6 months and it is an Excellent Script!

I run 3 websites on Piwigo and very happy with it. Piwigo allow you to manage from small to large projects very effectively.

You can easily manage your picture and albums with Piwigo. Back end allow you to sync pictures for fast upload. Also it created thumbnails for you automatically.

Piwigo is error free. I noticed that with each release development team take time and ensuring that there no bugs in release.

PHP based with open source, it is can be easily customized and support forum is there to help you to figure out the script and solve common questions.

Thank you very much for this great product. I hope it will stay Free.

I highly recommend this product to anyone who works with photo and picture galleries.

Excellent Reviewed by Anonymous on Thu, 16th September 2010

Rating: 5 - Excellent

Everything works fine. Even in the admin panel. I don't understand the previous comments. I did not see bugs in the application and I'm using it for several months.

Good software and good support Verified Reviewed by Anonymous on Thu, 16th September 2010

Rating: 5 - Excellent

Software very simple, easy to personalize, free with a powerful support in line and with listening.

Too buggy to use Reviewed by Anonymous on Tue, 3rd August 2010

Rating: 2 - Fair

Great design look & feel, but when in admin area, way too many errors to be functional. I was disappointed. hmm

PhpWebGallery Reviewed by Anonymous on Wed, 16th July 2003

Rating: 4 - Very Good

Very good overall. However layout could be a bit better. And it would be good if "galleries" could be created through the admin panel.

Despite this it is well worth a look and will certainly enhance your site.

WELL DONE!!!

Error

Success